First Mylan WTT Rec national qualifier of 2015 sends six teams home victorious

Charleston, S.C. (March 11, 2015) – The 2015 Mylan WTT Rec League season began over the weekend at the first national qualifier of the year in Charleston, S.C., with 25 teams competing in six divisions. Six teams won titles, five of which will be first-time competitors at the Mylan WTT Nationals at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, Calif., November 5-8.

Competing teams represented ten states at the tournament held at the Wild Dunes Resort in Charleston, S.C. Those advancing to the Nationals include Fehrs Wilmington, of Wilmington, N.C.; Pandamonium, of Raleigh, N.C.; ACAC Traudt, of Midlothian, Va.; WW, of Miami;, of Mascoutah, Ill.; and Hall of Framers, of Shiloh, Ill.

The remaining Qualifiers on the Mylan WTT Rec League schedule are as follows: April 24-26 in Las Vegas; June 5-7 in Verona, N.Y. (Senior divisions only); June 12-14 in Key Biscayne, Fla. (Senior divisions only); June 26-28 in Virginia Beach, Va.; July 24-26 in Springfield, Mo.; August 14-16 in Landisville, Pa.; August 14-16 in Raleigh N.C.; and September 18-20 in Irvine, Calif.

For more information on WTT Rec League programs, visit or visit the official Facebook Page at



Four teams competed for the 3.0 Division title with Fehrs Wilmington, of Wilmington, N.C. taking the title and earning their first ever bid to Nationals. All teams in the division, including Raintree Racqueteers, of Doswell, Va.; Love Stinks, of Wilmington, N.C.; Zero Love, of Wilmington, N.C.; along with Fehrs Wilmington were tied 1-1 going into the final round. The champion was determined by head-to-head records, giving Fehrs Wilmington a close but decisive victory. Led by captain Maureen Fehrs, team members advancing include Timothy Markley, Mark Clemmons, Michael Thomas, Alisa Morgan and Debbie Jones, all of Wilmington, N.C.



The 3.5 division included nine competing teams, with Pandamonium, of Raleigh, N.C., gaining the championship title and a return trip to the Nationals. Pandamonium was down by 3 going into mixed doubles, but came back to win both matches 6-4 and 6-4 to win by 1 against opponent Match Point!, of Silver Spring, Md. in the Sunday final. Led by captain Tom Morrow, players advancing to the Nationals include Allan Hilton, Tony Davis, Amanda Davis, all of Raleigh, N.C.; Donna Reist and Phillis Sheets, both of Cary, N.C.; and Bryan Simpson, Apex, N.C.


Senior team, of Mascoutah, Ill., competed with the other 3.5s, as they were the sole Senior 3.5 team. They held their own in the competitive 3.5 bracket, and since they were the only Senior 3.5 team, advance to the Nationals. Advancing players include Dave Lang (captain), Mascoutah, Ill.; Steve Schmittling, Belleville, Ill.; Cathy Kasson, Waterloo, Ill.; Carl Weiss, Kim Schwaegel and Anne Muren, all of O’Fallon, Ill.



Seven teams competed for the 4.0 division title to determine who would win the bid to the Nationals. In the championship match on Sunday, ACAC Traudt, of Midlothian, Va., defeated The Maniacs, of Cary, N.C., 32-27 capturing their first bid to the Nationals and a comeback from a 25-28 round-robin loss to The Maniacs earlier in the tournament. Players advancing to the Nationals include Ryan Traudt (captain), Sonya Carmen, Robert Stinnet and Elizabeth Kimball, all of Midlothian, Va.; Logan Gruhl, of North Chesterfield, Va.; Lauren Palmer, of Richmond, Va.; and Jonathan Brew, of Powhatan, Va..

Leave a Comment